Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

United States Capitol Police

Protect and Secure Congress


The United States Capitol Police (USCP) is overseen by the Capitol Police Board and has Congressional oversight by appropriations and authorizing committees from the U.S. House of Representatives and U.S. Senate. This oversight affords the Department the support and opportunity to continually ensure that the USCP meets the safety and security needs of the Congress, the staff, and the many visitors who come to the United States Capitol each day.

Capitol Police Board

  • Paul D. Irving, U.S. House of Representatives Sergeant at Arms (Chairman)
  • Michael C. Stenger, United States Senate Sergeant at Arms
  • Stephen T. Ayers, FAIA, LEED AP, Architect of the Capitol
  • Matthew R. Verderosa, Chief of Police (Ex-Officio Member)

Congressional Committees

        Appropriations Committees

House Committee on Appropriations, Subcommittee on Legislative Branch

  • Chairman: Kevin Yoder (Kansas)
  • Ranking Member: Tim Ryan (Ohio)

Senate Committee on Appropriations, Subcommittee on Legislative Branch

  • Chairman: Steve Daines (Montana)
  • Ranking Member: Christopher Murphy (Connecticut)


        Authorizing Committees

Committee on House Administration

  • Chairman: Gregg Harper (Mississippi)
  • Ranking Member: Robert Brady (Pennsylvania)

Senate Committee on Rules and Administration

  • Chairman: Roy Blunt (Missouri)
  • Ranking Member: Amy Klobuchar (Minnesota)