USCP Promotions Lead to Historic Number of Female Inspectors

March 29, 2021
Press Release
PHOTO: Captain Eric Graves, Inspector Denea Newell, Acting Chief Yogananda Pittman, Captain Tia Summers, Deputy Chief Jason Bell, Inspector Jeanita Mitchell.

U.S. Capitol Police Chief Yogananda Pittman promoted 23 sworn personnel across the Department on Sunday.

Notably, Inspector Jason Bell was promoted to Deputy Chief of the Operational Services Bureau; and Captains Jeanita Mitchell and Denea Newell were promoted to Inspector.

Inspector Mitchell is assigned to the Protective Services Bureau's Investigations Division.

Inspector Newell is assigned to the Operational Services Bureau's Special Operations Division.

Inspector is similar to the position of Major in other police departments.

USCP now has a record six female Inspectors, the most the Department has ever had.

"The USCP supports the development and retention of a diverse workforce," said Acting Chief Yogananda Pittman. "It is critical that the leadership of the Department leverages its collective knowledge and talents to focus on the needs and expectations of its diverse workplace. It is truly an honor to promote these new leaders."

The entire list of promotions is below.



Deputy Chief

Jason Bell



Jeanita Mitchell

Denea Newell



Eric Graves

Tia Summers



Bradley Kennerly

George McCree



Kareen Blaise

Daniel Clancy

Marcus Fleming

Michael Flores

Kimberly Flowers

Brendan Kiely

Bretton Klaich

Andre LaGamba

Kevin Marshall

John O’Meara

Samona Proctor

Andre Walker

Anthony Warner

Keith Weaver

Brittney Weems

John Whittle